How to Backup your Photos using Google Photos

Using Google Photos to Backup your photos

Using Google Photos to Backup your photos

Google photos provides free unlimited storage for your photos. Apart from unlimited storage, it offers features like smart automatic albums, photo sharing, advanced editing, casting and visual search among others.

Smart automatic albums will create albums based on who or where the photo was taken. Using facial recognition, It can automatically create albums that based on who are in the photos and use GPS to create location based albums.

Visual search will allow you to search your photos based on events, people, where or when the photo was taken. This is helpful because it means you don’t have to spend hours tagging your photos to make them retrievable.

Casting enables you to use Chromecast to send your photos to a larger display from your smartphone. While share enables you to easily and effortlessly share your photos with any of your contacts without need to upload it.

It will automatically backup your photos as soon as you take them. You can set up to only backup over Wi-Fi to avoid too much data usage.

To setup Google Photos on Android, follow the following steps:

  1. On your Android phone or tablet, open the Google Photos app.
  2. Sign in to your Google Account.
  3. At the top, tap Menu (3 Vertical Dots).
  4. Select Settings and then Back up & sync.
  5. Tap ‘Back up & sync’ on.

To step up Google Photos on iPhone and iPads, follow the following steps:

  1. Open the Google Photos app.
  2. Sign in to your Google Account.
  3. At the top, tap Menu.
  4. Select Settings and Back up & sync.
  5. Tap “Back up & sync” on.

In iOS, you must allow Google Photos to access your photos. To see the message that request your permission follow the following steps:

  1. Open the iOS settings app > tap Privacy > Photos.
  2. Turn on Google Photos.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.