How to recall WhatsApp Messages

WhatsApp has introduced a new feature called delete for everyone. It allows you to recall messages that have been sent. This feature allows you to recall a message that is less than 7 minutes old even if it has been read. The recipient will be notified that the message has been deleted but the entry will still exist. You will also be notified if deleting for everyone is not successful.

How to recall WhatsApp Messages

Recall Messages on WhatsApp – Credit: The Next Web

For you to use this feature, you must be both – you and your recipient – using the latest version of WhatsApp for Android, iPhone or Windows Phone. This feature will not be available to you if you or your recipient is not using the latest version of WhatsApp.

This feature will work with both individuals and groups. It’s very tricky for a group as some members may have an unsupported WhatsApp version and such it will only be able to delete for some users.

Note: This doesn’t prevent users from saving the message by either a screenshot or forwarding to someone else or any other means before deletion. So, still be careful of what you are sending.

How it works

To delete messages for all

  1. Open WhatsApp and go to the chat containing the message you wish to delete.
  2. Tap and hold the message > choose Delete from the menu. Optionally, select more messages to delete multiple messages at once.
  3. Tap Delete > Delete for Everyone.

To delete messages just for you

  1. Open WhatsApp and go to the chat containing the message you wish to delete.
  2. Tap and hold the message > choose Delete from the menu. Optionally, select more messages to delete multiple messages at once.
  3. Tap Delete > Delete for Me.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *